ITIL® is the most widely accepted approach to IT service management in the world. ITIL® provides a cohesive set of best practices, drawn from the public and private sectors internationally. It is supported by a comprehensive qualifications scheme, accredited training organizations, and implementation and assessment tools.


Out of stock

The Foundation level courses introduce the framework and principles of ITIL® and the importance of a systematic approach to management. This means that a process-like approach to the business organization is used to convey the material.

ITIL® is a set of best practices guidance that has become a worldwide-adopted framework for Information Technology Services Management (ITSM) by many Public & Private Organizations. Since early 1990, ITIL® has been evolving from focusing on Functions and Processes under versions 1 and 2 to focusing on the Full Service Lifecycle Management under current version.
In addition to the existing benefits of aligning IT goals and objectives with the business, improving quality and reducing cost of operation; ITSM and ITIL® now emphasizes the following areas:
• Assist in transforming IT Service Management onto a strategic business asset
• Assist in defining and managing the complete lifecycle of IT Service Management Process
• Provide guidance on the development of Services Strategy, the development of Service Design, the Transition of Services from current to desired state, the Implementation and the Continuous improvement of the those Services
This exam-preparatory course provides comprehensive coverage of foundation concepts of ITIL®. Through lectures and practice exam questions participants explore the concepts of good practice in IT Service Management based on the ITIL® Edition 2011Framework.

Introduction to Service Management

• The evolution of Service management
• Definition of Service and Service Management
• Service Management as best practice
• The importance of adopting a service and continual improvement culture and approach
• Interface to other framework and standards (i.e. ISO/IEC 20000)

The Service Lifecycle

• The purpose, objectives and scope of the five ITIL® service lifecycle stages
• Objectives and business value
• The main components (the new books) within the 5 stages in the lifecycle:
o Service Strategy
o Service Design
o Service Transition
o Service Operation
o Continual Service Improvement

Generic concepts and definitions

The course will clarify and explain some of the key terminology and key concepts of service management. Specifically, the following key concepts:

• Utility and warranty
• Assets, resources and capabilities
• Service portfolio
• Service catalogue (both two-view and three-view types)
• Governance
• Business case
• Risk management
• Service provider
• Supplier
• Service level agreement (SLA)
• Operational level agreement (OLA)
• Underpinning contract (UC)
• Service design package
• Availability
• Service knowledge management system (SKMS)
• Configuration item (CI) and Configuration management system
• Definitive media library (DML)
• Change and Change types (standard, emergency and normal); Change proposals
• Event
• Alert
• Incident
• Impact, urgency and priority
• Service request
• Problem
• Workaround
• Known error and Known error database (KEDB)
• The role of communication in service operation
• Release policy
• Types of services
• CSI register
• Outcomes
• Patterns of business activity
• Customers and users
• The Deming Cycle (plan, do, check, act)

Key principles and models

• Service strategy
– Value creation through services
• Service design
– Understand the importance of people, processes, products and partners for service management
– Understand the five major aspects of service design
– Service solutions for new or changed services
– Management information systems and tools
– Technology architectures and management architecture
– The processes required
– Measurement methods and metrics

Phases and Processes

• Service strategy
o Purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
– Service portfolio management
• The service portfolio
– Financial management for IT services
• Business case
– Business relationship management

• Service Design
o Purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
– Service level management (SLM)
• Service-based SLA
• Multi-level SLAs
• Service level requirements (SLRs)
• SLA monitoring (SLAM) chart
• Service review
• Service improvement plan (SIP)
• The relationship between SLM and BRM
– Service catalogue management
– Availability management
– Service availability
• Component availability
• Reliability
• Maintainability
• Serviceability
• Vital business functions (VBF)
– Information security management (ISM)
• Information security policy
– Supplier management
• Supplier categories
– Capacity management
• Capacity plan
• Business capacity management
• Service capacity management
• Component capacity management
– IT service continuity management
• Purpose of business impact analysis (BIA)
• Risk assessment
– Design coordination

• Service transition
– Purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
• Change management
– Types of change request
– Change models
– Remediation planning
– Change advisory board / emergency change advisory board
– Lifecycle of a normal change
• Release and deployment management
– Four phases of release and deployment
• Knowledge management
– Data-to-Information-to-Knowledge-to-Wisdom (DIKW) & SKMS
• Service asset and configuration management
• Transition planning and support

• Service operation
– Purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
• Incident management
• Problem management
• Event management
• Request fulfillment
• Access management
• Continual service improvement
– The seven-step improvement process

• Continual service improvement
– Continual service improvement approach
– Understand the role of measurement for continual service improvement and explain the following key elements:
• Relationship between critical success factors (CSF) and key performance indicators (KPI)
• Baselines
•Types of metrics (technology metrics, process metrics, service metrics)

• Functions
– The service desk function
– The technical management function
– The application management function with application development
– The IT operations management function

• Roles
– Process owner
– Process manager
– Process practitioner
– Service owner
– RACI Model

• Technology and architecture
– Service automation assists and integrating service management processes

Program Material (handout)

• This training program includes the following as reference documentation:
– Accredited Course Manual
– ITIL® Syllabus document
– Exam study guide
– ITIL® acronyms and glossary
– Sample examination questions and answers

The format of this course is 100% online. Prior to the start date of the course, an email will be sent to all registered students containing instructions on how to access the online Learning Management System.

Certificate of Completion is available upon finishing studying the course.